Author Topic: Water gave out this evening - might need a new pump after less than 7 years!  (Read 4227 times)

MollyP

• View Profile
I had this house built about 22 years ago and our original well pump lasted 15 years, which our plumber said was normal. That pump was replaced in 2010.  We also had our first pressure tank replaced at one point, but the one we have now has lasted longer than the original one. Our water pressure has been awfully variable for the last couple of years; it's actually scary to take a shower. You never know if you're going to get scalded or frozen!
I have not talked with a plumbing contractor yet, and I stumbled on your website and like what I read.  I am an engineer and although I don't work with fluid systems, I do understand the stress on motors that cycle on and off constantly.  Your CSVs make a lot of sense to me!
My question is when I have a plumber come out here tomorrow sometime, they are most likely going to figure out what needs replacing and want replace it with whatever it is that they like to use. Should I tell them I want a CSV and have them call your office?
It seems like a CSV can be installed after a pump or new pressure tank is installed (I obviously don't want to go too long without water!) but I'm thinking they might need to speak with you about sizing a system and what pumps are recommended (or NOT). 
We are located in SE Pennsylvania.
Please advise.

Thanks very much!
Molly

Cary Austin

• Inventor, Owner, Chief Cook and Bottle Washer
  • Administrator
    • View Profile
    • http://www.cyclestopvalves.com
Tell them you want a Cycle Stop Valve.  But let them go ahead and get the system back to running.  If you replace the tank, just use a very small tank, and order a CSV.  The pump will cycle quickly with the small tank until you get the CSV installed.  A few days of cycling with the small tank won't hurt much while waiting on the CSV to arrive.